Where I live now

An old friend came to visit yesterday for the first time since we moved Sarf-ov-de-river and the only cloud in an otherwise properly jolly morning was the fact that it was pouring with rain. Which meant I couldn’t show him the best bit of where I live now – the river.

Each Tuesday another friend and I do a glorious walk. It’s always dry strangely, and we use our time mostly to talk about all manner of things. I will admit though that I think I annoy her too by regularly stopping to admire some detail or other of the water. Or spending precious kid-free minutes getting just the right framed shot of the river bank, or a bridge or lone rower. And I swear, each Tuesday the water is different, faster, slower, softer, jagged. It never bores me. In fact, every week I love it a tiny bit more.

But yesterday the weather was so bad, my dear visitor was unable to fully see the beauty of this amazing body of water that rushes through London every day.

So I’m posting this picture from last week. Which was a very glossy river day.

Here you are Sean.

2 thoughts on “Where I live now

  1. London City (Mum)

    Now unless I am grossly mistaken, this is the EXACT same view I have whilst traipsing along the towpath sarf-ov-de-rivah (bandstand by Dukes Meadow and Chiswick Pier in the distance)?
    Suggest we meet in nearby café for well-earned coffee/tea/cake soon and compare notes on best routes to take during current mudfest whilst out walking along the river.
    londoncitymum@gmail.com

    LCM x

    p.s. I don’t bite

    Reply
  2. Careering Post author

    Ha! We have to do that! I’ve succumbed to the wellie option at present due to mudfest. Also easier to scramble over the fallen trees and wash off the dog muck too 🙂 x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

